What Is MESA?

MESA - Mathmatics Engineering Science Achievement

The Mathematics, Engineering, and Science Achievement (MESA) program supports students pursuing science, engineering, and mathematics degrees. It is a rigorous academic program that builds an academic peer community to increase student support and motivation. California MESA is a college and career prep engine that propels student diversity and achievement in science, engineering and math. MESA's community college level program produces a diverse population of transfer-ready students who will continue their educational journeys in four-year institutions and successfully attain math, engineering, and science degrees. 

Most MESA events are open to SBVC students, faculty, and staff. Students meeting the eligibility requirements listed below are encouraged to apply to become MESA members. 

What are the MESA eligibility requirements?

  • Enrollment in at least intermediate algebra
  • Declare a transfer major in a math, engineering, or science-based field - some majors that are considered "STEM majors" are mathematics, engineering, computer science, computer engineering, physics, astrophysics, pre-medical, botany, biology, zoology, earth sciences, geology, environmental science, and chemistry
  • Maintain a GPA of 2.5 or above
  • Proof of financial need
  • Educationally under-served

What are the benefits of MESA?

  • Academic and career counseling throughout the year
  • Education planning for transfer to a four-year institution
  • Development of fundamental skills in core science, engineering, and math courses
  • Academic Excellence Workshops (AEWs)
  • Individual and group mentoring
  • Access to workshops, guest speakers, study sessions, and field trips designed to prepare students for careers in science, engineering, and mathematics
  • Receive transfer preparation and scholarship application support
  • Develop professional relationships with professors and peers
  • Learn how to find and apply to summer research and internship opportunities

Want more information? Let’s talk, please contact:

 Daniel Mayo photo

Daniel Mayo   

Director of STEM-MESA                    
(909) 387 - 1651
dmayo@sbccd.cc.ca.us  
Physical Sciences 122

 

 Anita Arnold

Anita Arnold

Faculty Sponsor & Professor of Allied Health/Nursing

(909) 384 - 8553

aarnold@valleycollege.edu  

Health & Life Sciences 113

 

 Amy Avelar photo

Amy Avelar

Faculty Sponsor & Professor of Chemistry
(909) 384 - 8648
aavelar@sbccd.cc.ca.us     
Physical Sciences 190       

 

 Fernando Gomez picture

Fernando Gomez

Faculty Sponsor & Professor of Biology

(909) 384 - 8560

fgomez@valleycollege.edu

Health & Life Sciences 221

 

Photo of Bethany Tasaka

Bethany Tasaka

Faculty Sponsor & Professor of Mathematics

(909) 387 - 1646

btasaka@valleycollege.edu

Physical Sciences 182

 

Armone Lochard

Armone Lochard

STEM-MESA Counselor                                       
(909) 384 - 4400 Ext. 8787                              alochard@sbccd.cc.ca.us 
Physical Sciences 139

calendar iconClick here

to schedule a meeting

 

 Daniele Smith

Daniele Smith-Morton

STEM-MESA Counselor

(909) 384 - 8651

dasmith@sbccd.cc.ca.us

Physical Sciences 138

Fall 2022 STEM Workshops

calendar iconClick here

to schedule a meeting

 

Photo of Abena Weber

Abena Weber

STEM-MESA Counselor

(909) 384 - 8941

awahab@valleycollege.edu 

Physical Sciences 140

Fall 2022 STEM Workshops

calendar iconClick here

to schedule a meeting

 

 Lourdes Maldonado photo

Lourdes Maldonado

STEM-MESA Counselor

lmaldonado@valleycollege.edu

Physical Sciences 139

calendar iconClick here

to schedule a meeting

 

 Brianna Cunningham photo

Brianna Cunningham

Tutorial Coordinator

(909) 384 - 8559

bcunningham@valleycollege.edu

Physical Sciences 127

 

Faye Epps

Faye Epps

Administrative Clerk                                               
(909) 387 - 1669
eepps@sbccd.cc.ca.us
Physical Sciences 139